Health & Social Care


The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide an introduction the sector. It is for learners who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to one A Level. The qualification supports access to a range of higher education courses possibly, but not exclusively, in health and social care, if taken alongside further Level 3 qualifications. In the first year students complete units 1 and 5, and in the second units 2 and 14. BTEC Level 3 Health and Social Care allows students to continue at University and achieve qualifications in nursing, midwifery and social work. Students have also gone on to achieve careers in caring for the elderly, as nursery workers and care assistants.

Course Outline

BTEC Level 3 is a two year course that includes the following modules:

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development; Students will develop and explore a knowledge and understanding of patterns of human growth and development.

Unit 5: Meeting individual care and support needs; Students will learn about the values and principles of meeting care and support needs and look at some of the ethical issues that arise when personalising care.

Unit 2: Working in Health & Social Care;
This unit will help students to understand what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. When working for an organisation in this sector, students will have important responsibilities that they need to understand and carry out.

Unit 14: Physiological Disorders;
Students will learn what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. When working
for an organisation in this sector, students will have important responsibilities that they need to understand and carry out.


Unit 1 - Externally assessed
Unit 5 - Internally assessed. Students will also complete a work experience placement as part of the unit.
Unit 2 - Externally assessed
Unit 14 - Internally assessed


GCSE Grade 5 in English, Maths and a C in Science. A Merit at BTEC Level 2 in Health and Social Care. Other BTEC subjects will be considered.